Skip to main content


ESCEO-IOF Young Investigator Awards

The ESCEO-IOF Young Investigator Awards are given to young investigators for their contributions in the field of bone and mineral research.

Twenty awards of 1000€ each will be distributed during the WCO-IOF-ESCEO Annual Meeting.


  • To be born after January 1, 1985
  • To be co-author of at least two abstracts submitted to the WCO-IOF-ESCEO 2025 Congress
  • Recipients must be duly registered to the Congress and attend the congress
  • Recipients must have their badge scanned on Saturday April 12, 2025 afternoon at the registration desk at the Congress Center


  • The application should be completed before January 27, 2025.
  • Abstracts can be submitted until January 27, 2025 on
  • Application will not be validated if a copy of the two (or more) submitted abstract and a copy of the passport/ID Card are not provided.
  • Applications will only be validated after the reception of a confirmation email from the Congress secretariat (no exception will be granted).
  • Recipients will be selected based on their abstracts by the ESCEO Scientific Advisory Board during the third week of February and notice will be provided no later than the first week of March, 2024.
  • Failure to have the badge scanned on Saturday April 12, 2025 afternoon at the registration desk at the Congress Center will result in the cancellation of the Scholarship (no exception will be granted).

We thank you very much for your active participation and we look forward to another successful Congress.

Apply now

IOF President's Award

The International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF) President's Award honors IOF members from different regions of the world who have made a significant and unstinting contribution to the advancement of the work of the IOF, through furthering one or more of the mission statements and/or goals of the Foundation. Recipients are selected by the IOF President, with the approval of the IOF Executive Committee.

IOF Medal of Achievement

The International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF) Medal of Achievement honors individual researchers who have significantly advanced the field of osteoporosis through their original and outstanding scientific contributions. The award underlines important aspects of IOF's mission - to increase understanding and awareness of osteoporosis and to promote medical innovation. The IOF Medal of Achievement is presented every year during the WCO-IOF-ESCEO congress. Candidates are nominated by members of IOF's Committee of Scientific Advisors (CSA) and the winner selected by the Chair of the CSA with the approval of the IOF Executive Committee.

IOF Olof Johnell Science Award

The International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF) Olof Johnell Science Award, named in honor of the late Professor Olof Johnell is awarded every year during the WCO-IOF-ESCEO congress. The Award honors an individual who has contributed to the field of osteoporosis in a scientific or policy implementation area, worldwide. The candidates will be nominated by IOF members and the winner chosen by the IOF Board.

IOF Committee of National Societies Medal

The International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF) Committee of National Societies Medal honors an individual who has made an important contribution to IOFs Committee of National Societies (CNS) through active participation in CNS activities and by expanding IOF's message and outreach in his/her country. An IOF Committee selects the winner, with the approval of the IOF Executive Committee.

2024 ESCEO Medal of Excellence

The "ESCEO Medal of Excellence" is a prize intended to honor and reward an outstanding contribution to the field of bone, joint and muscle from an established researcher

ESCEO-IOF Pierre Meunier Young Scientist Award

The "ESCEO-IOF Pierre Meunier Young Scientist Award" is intended to reward the work of a young researcher, who has already demonstrated his/her scientific merits without having yet reached a prominent academic position. Numerous awards are dedicated to young promising scientists and other honor the "Masters and Mentors" for their overall work. Nevertheless, there is in between a gap, in the recognition of those who represent the next generation of leaders.

ESCEO-IOF Pierre Delmas Medal

The European Society for Clinical and Economic Aspects of Osteoporosis and Osteoarthritis (ESCEO) and the International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF) is proud to present the ESCEO-IOF Pierre Delmas Medal during the WCO-IOF-ESCEO Congress 2025 in Rome,

Pierre Delmas, Professor of Medecine and Rheumatology at the University of Lyon, France, Director of the INSERM research unit « Pathophysiology of Osteoporosis », was an outstanding scientist who directed essential basic and clinical research in metabolic bone diseases, particulary in osteoporosis and osteoarthritis.

He was the Co-Founder and the First President of the IOF.

The Pierre Delmas Prize will be awarded to an individual for outstanding and major scientific contributions to the study of bone and mineral diseases, and consists of a grant of €2000 and a medal.

The prize Committee will be composed of remarkable Scientists chosen within the IOF Committee of Scientific Advisors and ESCEO Scientific Advisory Board.